The 2015 Freeplay Awards

The winners of the Freeplay Awards were announced on Sunday 19 April.

The 2015 Freeplay Award went to Push Me Pull You (House House).

All category winners are highlighted in red in the finalist columns to the right.

Winner of the Freeplay Award, 2015:

  • Push Me Pull You (House House)

Best Design finalists, 2015:

  • Guild Master (Antony Games)
  • Winner: Push Me Pull You (House House)
  • Hand of Fate (Defiant Development)
  • The Time Project (The Voxel Agents)
  • Screencheat (Samurai Punk)

Best Visual Art finalists, 2015:

  • Submerged (Uppercut Games)
  • Winner: Movement Study 1 (What A Dreamer)
  • Rise to Power (Rule & Make)
  • Hand of Fate (Defiant Development)
  • Fort Meow (Rhys Davies)
  • Crossy Road (Hipster Whale)
  • The Time Project (The Voxel Agents)

Best Audio finalists, 2015:

  • Assault Android Cactus (Witch Beam)
  • Fort Meow (Rhys Davies)
  • Hand of Fate (Defiant Development)
  • Winner: Submerged (Uppercut Games)

Best Narrative finalists, 2015:

  • Killing Time at Lightspeed (Gritfish)
  • Forget Me. Not. (Liz Threlfo)
  • Movement Study 01 (What A Dreamer)
  • To Be or Not to Be (Tin Man Games)
  • Winner: Project Ven (Studio 59)

Best Tech finalists, 2015:

  • FUTUREVOXIMAGINARIUMDOTEXE (Ben Weatherall & Jason Bakker)
  • Hacknet (Team Fractal Alligator)
  • dualcyon (Chad Toprak & Yang Ho)
  • Movement Study 01 (What A Dreamer)
  • Winner: Space Dust Racers (Space Dust Studios)

Best Non-Digital finalists, 2015:

  • The Road (Malcolm Ryan)
  • Keller’s Magic Emporium (Escape Room Melbourne)
  • Winner: Rise to Power (Rule & Make)
  • Hedron (End Game Games)
  • Guild Master (Antony Games)

2015 Freeplay Awards Jury

Cherie Davidson (Jury Chair) is a jack-of-all-trades indie game developer and lecturer at RMIT. She works on the non-combat MMO, Wander, and acts as producer and technical artist for an upcoming local game, Inventory Imp.

Ben McKenzie is a performer, writer, game designer and producer. He is best known for the improvised adventure show Dungeon Crawl, hit live podcast Splendid Chaps, and sci-fi comedy audio series Night Terrace. He is Head Game Designer at Melbourne-based Pop Up Playground.

Leena van Deventer is a writer, game developer, and teacher. She has worked on apps for the Australian Bureau of Statistics, and Melbourne Writers Festival, and currently works in the game design degrees at Swinburne University and RMIT University, teaching interactive storytelling.

Brendan Keogh is a PhD candidate at RMIT University, and a critic at OverlandReverse Shot, and Unwinnable. He is the author of Killing is Harmless: A Critical Reading of Spec Ops The Line.

Kate Inabinet is an industry professional with over 14 years’ experience as a senior, principle and freelance animator for games, with an active involvement in the education of a future generation of game developers. She is currently teaching Animation at RMIT, and when not marking assignments can be found plugging away at her own education based games, writing children’s stories, or playing the heck out of Guild Wars.

Nathan Cocks is a freelance games journalist with over ten years of experience, having written for publications such as PC Powerplay, Hyper, and Official Playstation Magazine. These days Nathan spends his time exploring the worlds of analogue gaming, losing badly at Netrunner and rambling in a disconcerting fashion on his podcast The Fourth Player.

Previous Awards


Best Game: Framed

Category Winners

Design: Framed

Visual Art: The Paper Fox

Audio Design: Particulars

Narrative: Particulars

Technical Innovation: Turnover

Non-Digital: Outside These City Walls

People’s Choice: Turnover


Best Australian Game: Stickets

Category Winners

Best Design in a Game: They Love You

Best International Game: Splice

Best Art in a Game: Toybox

Best Concept Art: Peleda

Best Audio in a Game: Lunar Flight

Best Technical Innovation: Automation

Best Writing in a Game: Flatland: Fallen Angle


Best Australian Game: Antichamber

Category Winners

Best International Game: The Swapper

Best Design: Antichamber

Best On-Paper Design: Dead Eye

Best Art: Warco

Best Concept Art: Firo

Best Technical Innovation: Kingspray

Best Game Writing: MacGuffin’s Curse

Best Audio: Solar 2


Best Australian Game: Jolly Rover

Category Winners

Best Design in a Game: Up Down Ready

Best On-Paper Design: iCrazy Man

Best Art in a Game: Captain Forever (Series)

Best Concept Art: Exodus

Best Technical Innovation: Colourbind

Best Game Writing: Transumer

Best Audio: Train Conductor

Best International Game: Last Hope